Texas alarm companies are regulated by the Texas Department of Public Safety, Regulatory Division, Private Security Program. Governed by a board, rules are reviewed and may be amended four times a year. The state legislature can and does amend laws that impact this program every other year.
Copies of the statutes and rules are published on the state website at www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/psb
Why do I need a state license to sell, service, install or monitor security services and equipment?
It's the law. Failure to comply can result in criminal, civil and fraud charges. Criminal charges are usually at the Class A Misdemeanor level and civil fines can range up to $10,000 per violation, per day. In addition a separate Administrative penalty of $10,000 can be assessed. Unlicensed work for a consumer is considered evidence of guilt under the Deceptive Trade Practices law and allows the consumer to file charges against your company.
It's serious and it's the law.
What does it take to get a state license for an alarm company?
You need two years of consecutive licensed experience to be eligible to take the manager exam.
If you do not have the experience to take the test, you are allowed to hire a Company Representative who has the experience and has passed the exam. That will allow you to file for a company license and begin earning money. You can then obtain the 2 years experience necessary to be eligible for the managers test. It will take about 30 days from initial application to license issue.
All we do is install cameras...do we need a security license?
Yes. Section 1702.002, para (1) (C) defines "a television camera or still camera system that records or archives images of a property or individuals in a public or private area of a residence of business; or, is monitored by security personnel or services" as a part of an alarm system. If you sell, service, install or monitor alarm equipment or provide security services you MUST be licensed.
What can prevent me from getting a license?
A Felony conviction of any level in the past 10 years, a Class A Misdemeanor conviction in the last 5 years, a Class B Misdemeanor conviction in the past 2 years or being behind on court ordered child support or student loans. The time periods are counted from the date of conviction.
How much does it cost to get a license?
Fees can change, but as of 2021, the license application is $412, plus approximately $81.50 for an owner application and criminal background check. Annual liability insurance runs around $1200-1500 a year.
For more detailed answers, contact Mike Barber at 210.389.2930 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org